2018 Provincial Election: Candidate Responses

On June 7, 2018 Halton voters will cast their ballot for local Provincial candidates. On behalf of Halton residents, Regional Chair Gary Carr has sent a letter and questionnaire to Halton’s candidates asking for their positions on a number of issues of critical importance to Halton Region.

Candidate's Responses by Issue

  1. Confirming Regional and Provincial regulatory roles in the proposed CN truck-rail hub
  2. Investing in roads and infrastructure to support growth targets
  3. Investing in adequate funding to support mandatory public health programs to close the $9.3 million funding gap
  4. Immediately investing in new technologies and establishing enforceable performance agreements for area Central Ambulance Communications Centres
  5. Investing in safe, affordable and accessible government-assisted housing
  6. MPP Support

Candidates by Riding


  •  Nadine Bentham—Direct Democracy Party
  •  Andrew Drummond—New Democratic Party
  •  Vince Fiorito—Green Party
  •        Jim Gilchrist—Libertarian Party
  •  Jane McKenna—Progressive Conservative Party
  •  Eleanor McMahon—Liberal Party
  •  Peter Rusin—Consensus Party


  •        Enam Ahmed—Ontario Social Reform Party
  •        Benjamin Cunningham—Libertarian Party
  •        Parm Gill—Progressive Conservative Party
  •  Eleanor Hayward—Green Party
  •  Indira Naidoo-Harris—Liberal Party
  •  Brendan Smyth—New Democratic Party


  •  Stephen Crawford—Progressive Conservative Party
  •        Emily Desousa—Green Party
  •  Kevin Flynn—Liberal Party
  •        Spencer Oklobdzija—Libertarian Party
  •  Lesley Sprague—New Democratic Party

Oakville North-Burlington

  •  Frank Deluca—Trillium Party
  •  Alvin Tedjo—Liberal Party
  •        Effie Triantafilopoulos—Progressive Conservative Party
  •  Marianne Workman—Green Party
  •        Charles Zach—Libertarian Party
  •  Saima Zaidi—New Democratic Party

Wellington - Halton Hills

  •  Ted Arnott—Progressive Conservative Party
  •        Diane Ballantyne—New Democratic Party
  •  Jon Hurst—Liberal Party
  •        Jadon Pfeiffer—Libertarian Party
  •  Dave Rodgers—Green Party

 Response submitted