Try the new

Halton Regional Police Services Board

Council Mandate

The Halton Regional Police Services Board is responsible for the provision of adequate and effective police services in Halton.  The Board must also satisfy itself that the standards issued by the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services are upheld.  Involvement in the day-to-day operational decisions of the Police Service is prohibited.


In accordance with Section 27 of the Police Services Act, three members of Regional Council, one of whom may be the head of council, are appointed to the seven member board. The remaining membership includes three members who are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council and one person appointed by resolution of Regional Council, who is neither a member of the council nor an employee of the municipality. The Administration and Finance Interview Committee reviews applications for this one citizen-at-large position and will present its recommendation in a separate report.


Halton Region appoints 1 citizen who is not a member of council or an employee of the municipality.  All applicants are required to apply for and obtain a security clearance at the Police Services Records Bureau.

Other members of the seven-member Police Services Board include:

  • three members of Regional Council, one of whom may be the head of Council.
  • three citizens appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

Frequency of Meetings

The Board meets monthly on a Thursday from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. (approximately).  Meetings are held in the Halton Regional Police Services Headquarters building, or may be held on a rotational basis throughout the Region.  Applicants must be willing to commit a minimum of 20 hours/month.  This commitment can increase dramatically if members are involved in other Board responsibilities, and may also require attendance at evening and week-end functions to represent the Police Services Board.


Provincial appointees

  • Barb Ferrone
  • Jason Wadden

Regional Council appointees

  • Mayor Rob Burton
  • Councillor Rick Craven
  • Councillor Jeff Knoll

Citizen Representative appointed by Regional Council

  • Gary Burkett