Decision-making at Halton

Cathy Duddeck - Ward 2, Oakville Gordon Krantz - Mayor, Milton Keith Bird - Ward 3, Oakville Colin Best - Wards 2, 3, 4 & 5, Milton Allan Elgar - Ward 4, Oakville Blair Lancaster - Ward 6, Burlington Clark Somerville - Wards 1 & 2, Halton Hills Jeff Knoll - Ward 5, Oakville Paul Sharman - Ward 5, Burlington Alan Johnston - Ward 1, Oakville Tom Adams - Ward 6, Oakville Rick Craven - Ward 1, Burlington Jack Dennison - Ward 4, Burlington John Taylor - Ward 3, Burlington Jane Fogal - Wards 3 & 4, Halton Hills Marianne Meed Ward - Ward 2, Burlington Rick Goldring - Mayor, Burlington Tony Lambert Rob Burton - Mayor, Oakville Rick Bonnette - Mayor, Halton Hills Gary Carr - Chair, Halton Region

Halton Regional Council acts as the final decision-making body for Halton Region and meets Wednesdays at 9:30 a.m. on a three-week cycle.

The Halton Regional Chair is the Chief Executive Officer of the corporation and head of Regional Council.

Regional Council is the legislative body of the Regional Corporation and has the following members:

The 21 members of Regional Council include the Mayors of the 4 local municipalities.

Term of Office

All Councillors are elected for a 4 year term. The current Council, elected in November 2010, will hold office until November 30, 2014.

Meetings and Process

Regional Council conducts its business at meetings held on a 3 week rotating schedule. 

Council operates on a standing committee system. Each of Council's 3 Standing Committees is responsible for reviewing policy and operational issues and  discussing recommendations that are put to them by staff by way of staff reports.

Recommendations arising from the Standing Committees are forwarded to Regional Council for consideration and approval by way of Committee Reports.  Regional Council may accept the Committee recommendations or may alter them.

Standing Committees meet regularly usually in the week prior to a Council meeting.  Meetings are held at the Halton Regional Centre, 1151 Bronte Road, Oakville (view map External Link)

Halton Regional Council meetings are broadcast on TV Cogeco in Halton Hills and Milton (channel 14), and in Burlington and Oakville (channel 23). Check your local listings for dates and times.

Members of the public may make presentations to Council or its Standing Committees on their own behalf or on behalf of companies/organizations.

2010 - 2014 Halton Regional Council

Photo of Halton Regional Council 2010 – 2014

Back Row: Clark Somerville, Halton Hills; Jack Dennison, Burlington; Jeff Knoll, OakvillePaul Sharman, Burlington; Alan Johnston, Oakville; Tom Adams , Oakville

Middle Row: Blair Lancaster, Burlington;Tony Lambert;Allan Elgar, OakvilleColin Best, Milton; Keith Bird, Oakville; John Taylor, BurlingtonRick Craven, Burlington; Jane Fogal, Halton Hills;

Front Row: Cathy Duddeck, Oakville; Rob Burton, Mayor, OakvilleGord Krantz, Mayor, Milton; Gary Carr, Regional Chair; Rick Bonnette, Mayor, Halton HillsRick Goldring, Mayor, Burlington; Marianne Meed Ward, Burlington