

April 28, 2020

Office of the Regional Chair Halton Region 1151 Bronte Road Oakville ON L6M 3L1

The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Legislative Building Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A1

RE: Personal Protective Equipment requirements of Halton Region

Dear Premier Ford,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the leadership role that you and your government have played during these unprecedented times, as we work together to stop the spread of COVID-19. Municipalities are working around the clock to support our communities through the pandemic, keep residents safe and help people and businesses through these economic challenges. We are all taking extraordinary measures to support our residents, including our most vulnerable.

Halton staff, whether in paramedic services, long-term care or public health, have been working tirelessly to protect the health and safety of our residents. We have been collaborating with the Ministry of Health on reporting, requesting and securing Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) for Halton's needs. Internally, we have been working diligently to prioritize, manage as well as secure our own PPE supplies to meet the growing needs of our staff and residents in long-term care.

I would ask for your formal assistance to expedite the provision of the PPE that we need to be able to deliver increased testing requirements and protect our front line health care workers. Specifically, we are requesting Nasal Pharyngeal swabs, N95 and surgical masks, sanitizer wipes and gel. We have been working with the Ministry of Health to request these supplies. However, some of our PPE delivery remains outstanding and it is critical that we receive these supplies as soon as possible.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. We will continue to work with the Provincial Government to protect the health and safety of our residents.

Sincerely

Gary Carr Regional Chair

Cc: The Honourable Christine Elliott, Minister of Health
Ted Arnott, MPP, Wellington-Halton Hills
Stephen Crawford, MPP, Oakville
Parm Gill, MPP, Milton
Jane McKenna, MPP, Burlington
Effie Triantafilopoulos, MPP Oakville North - Burlington
Jamie McGarvey, President, Association of Municipalities of Ontario
Brian Rosborough, Executive Director, Association of Municipalities of Ontario